close
close

Covid19 Response

Covid News 2024

bacul43e

Do you think Sanju Samson’s dismissal against DC was controversial? This video is for you

The ongoing Indian Premier League (IPL) season was hit by a major controversy as Delhi Capitals’ Shai Hope took a controversial catch to dismiss Rajasthan Royals captain Sanju Samson on Tuesday, May 7. Former Australian cricketer Tom Moody has now shared his views on the incident during an analytical conversation with official broadcaster Star Sports. Moody viewed the catch from several angles and confirmed that Hope made no mistake during the catch. Samson, who had already completed his half-century in the high-scoring match, tried to avoid the fence over long region and took a short delivery off Mukesh Kumar. Hope made an excellent effort and got a one-handed stunner. After the ball was taken, the West Indian cricketer tried his best to keep his feet away from the boundary rope.

The third umpire took some time to make his decision and it ultimately went in favor of Delhi Capitals. Sanju Samson was apparently not happy with the verdict. He was seen chatting with the field officials before leaving the field in disappointment. The incident caused a stir, with many debating whether Samson was gone or not.

READ ALSO | Hilarious posts are taking the internet by storm after Delhi Capitals’ win over Rajasthan Royals

According to Tom Moody, the boundary pad never moved when Shai Hope completed the catch. He assessed the fielder’s movement from several angles and concluded that Hope’s feet were not on the line. “First of all, you look at the fielder’s reaction. He showed no evidence of guilt. Then you look at his feet. Yes, the right foot is close, but then you look at the pad. That was clearly a catch as the foot did not make any contact with the boundary,” Moody was heard saying in a video shared by Star Sports on social media platform X (formerly Twitter).

Advertisement

Former Indian cricketer Navjot Singh Sidhu later spoke on the subject and criticized the third umpire’s decision. Sidhu felt that Shai Hope had touched the boundary rope with his feet twice. “There may be disagreements, but if you look at the sideways angle, it hits the line twice. It was pretty clear. Either you don’t use the technology or if you do use it and the technology makes a mistake, then it’s like there is a fly in the milk and someone asks you to drink it,” Sidhu told Star Sports, quoted by NDTV.

top videos

View all

  • Aditi Rao Hydari on working with Sanjay Leela Bhansali, working with Siddharth, more | WATCH

  • RajKummar Rao, with producer Nidhi Parmar Talk Srikanth, film process and more | WATCH

  • Ranveer Singh makes his FIRST public appearance after deleting wedding photos with Deepika Padukone

  • MET GALA 2024 HIGHLIGHTS: From Kim Kardashian to Kylie Jenner, Tyla to Doja Cat; Best viral moments

  • Sonakshi Sinha talks about pay gap, Heeramandi and Rekha praise her performance I EXCLUSIVE

  • Ritayan Basu

    Ritayan Basu, senior sub-editor, sports at News18.com. Relates to domestici

    first print: May 9, 2024 5:58 PM IST