Covid19 Response

Covid News 2024


How many Europeans have won individual NBA awards? – FIBA ​​​​EuroBasket 2025 Qualifiers

MUNICH (Germany) – The 2023-2024 NBA awards were dominated by Europeans, as Serbian star Nikola Jokic was announced as MVP again after another incredible regular season campaign.

French duo Rudy Gobert and Victor Wembanyama also earned individual honors as Defensive Player of the Year and Rookie of the Year, respectively, to add to the long list of European stars who found success in the NBA.

Most valuable player

Jokic took home his third NBA MVP award after beating fellow international stars Shai Gilgeous-Alexander and Luka Doncic in the voting. The Joker averaged 26.4 points, 12.4 rebounds and 9.0 assists for the Denver Nuggets during the regular season; adding to his 2021 and 2022 accolades.

The Serbian superstar made a much-awaited FIBA ​​EuroBasket debut in 2022, but failed to lead Serbia to the podium – perhaps that will change in 2025?

Giannis Antetokounmpo became the first European player to win back-to-back MVP awards, having done so in 2019 and 2020. The Greek Freak is also chasing a first EuroBasket medal, as Greece fell in the quarterfinals in its two appearances so far, in 2015 and 2022.

The duo followed the path of Dirk Nowitzki, who made history in 2007 as the first European-born player to be crowned NBA MVP. The German carried the torch and had already become an international legend, with Nowitzki earning the MVP award at FIBA ​​EuroBasket 2005 as his country finished second.

Rookie of the Year

Wembanyama became just the third European to take NBA Rookie of the Year honors after bursting onto the scene as the No. 1 pick in San Antonio. The Frenchman made his national team debut as a teenager in 2022 and will be one of the most coveted stars at FIBA ​​EuroBasket next year.

Legendary Spaniard Pau Gasol was the first European to win the award in the NBA in 2002, before becoming a two-time EuroBasket MVP and winning the title three times. Meanwhile, Luka Doncic ended a 17-year wait for a new European winner with an impressive debut campaign for Dallas Mavericks, having already made a name for himself as a EuroBasket winner with Slovenia in 2017.

Defensive Player of the Year

Gobert joined an exclusive group of four-time NBA Defensive Player of the Year award winners by adding the 2024 crown to the titles won in 2018, 2019 and 2021. The Stifle Tower has yet to win a FIBA ​​EuroBasket title with France but was part of the squad that finished second in the 2022 edition.

Marc Gasol – a two-time EuroBasket winner with Spain – became the first European recipient of the award in 2013, followed by French center Joakim Noah a year later. Giannis Antetokounmpo doubled as MVP and Defensive Player of the Year in 2020.

Most Improved Player

Lauri Markannen took home the Most Improved Player award for the 2022-2023 season for Utah Jazz after a dominant performance for Finland at the last edition of EuroBasket. The Finnish forward joined a long list of European players who have been recognized for their improvements in the NBA.

Romanian Gheorghe Muresan was the first European to receive the award in 1996, before Boris Diaw followed suit a decade later and the Frenchman won a EuroBasket title with France in 2013. Hedo Turkoglu claimed the award in 2008 after previously helping Turkiye to success. second place at EuroBasket in 2001.

Goran Dragic was awarded Most Improved Player honors in 2014 – three years before leading Slovenia to a historic EuroBasket title as MVP, while Giannis Antetokounmpo enjoyed a breakout year with Milwaukee Bucks in 2017 at the start of his meteoric rise to the top of the world ranking. the game.

Sixth Man of the Year

It’s been 28 years since the last European won the Sixth Man of the Year award when Toni Kukoc earned the honor in 1996 and went on to win the first of three NBA championships with the Chicago Bulls. The Hall of Famer won the FIBA ​​EuroBasket title twice with Yugoslavia, in 1989 and 1991 as MVP, and also represented Croatia.

Detlef Schrempf became the first non-American to win the award in 1991 with the Indiana Pacers, and repeated the feat a year later. The German made two EuroBasket appearances in 1983 and 1985, when he made the All-Tournament Team.

Finals MVP

There have been four European stars to take home the top honor of NBA Finals MVP. Tony Parker was the first to do so in 2007, after leading San Antonio to a 4-0 series sweep for the third of four NBA titles, and the Frenchman would lead his country to a EuroBasket title on home soil in 2013 as MVP. .

Nowitzki followed suit in 2011, leading the Dallas Mavericks to their first championship in an upset over Miami, while Giannis Antetokounmpo inspired the Milwaukee Bucks to a first NBA title in 50 years in 2021 before Jokic helped the Denver Nuggets to their own historic championship in the Finals from last season.

Could another one be added to the list next month? Players like Jokic and Doncic are still in contention in the thick of the NBA Playoffs, even as they face early deficits in the Conference Semifinals.