Covid19 Response

Covid News 2024


Micklus named Newcomer of the Year, Nine Improvers honored by the LSC

– LSC Academic version
– LSC defensive release
– LSC Awards Release

CANYON, Texas –

West Texas A&M junior catcher Kyle Micklus was named the Lone Star Conference Newcomer of the Year, while eight teammates were also recognized by the league during the annual postseason awards ceremony on Wednesday evening in Lubbock, Texas.

Micklus was joined on the LSC First Team by Dylan Fesperman And Kory Schmidt while Reese Molenaar And Ryan Camacho earned second-team honors. The LSC third team was present Maddux Hoaglund And Glenn Noronha. Micklus becomes the first Buff to claim the LSC Newcomer of the Year award since the award’s inception in 2021.

Defensively, three Buffs earned All-Defensive Team honors with Micklus, Paul Wittmann And Elijah Batista claiming the award given for seven years, determined by a vote of the LSC baseball head coaches, based solely on defensive performance for all nine positions. Wittmann was one of three players on the list with a perfect fielding percentage.

A pair of Buffs were also recognized for their efforts in the classroom as Fesperman and Noronha were named to the LSC All-Academic Team and LCU’s Brevin McCool was named the league’s Academic Player of the Year.

Lubbock Christian’s Carson Ogilvie was named the league’s Player of the Year, while UT Tyler’s Rawley Hector earned Pitcher of the Year honors, Texas A&M International’s Isaac Stanwick was named the league’s Freshman of the Year, while champions of the regular season Lubbock Christian was named LSC Coaching Staff of the Year.