Covid19 Response

Covid News 2024


Syring, Barrera and Marlow deserve all-conference status

NORTH LITTLE ROCK, Ark. – SWOSU Baseball had three All-Great American Conference selections Wednesday evening, announced during the league’s awards banquet prior to the start of the second weekend of the conference tournament.

The trio’s headline act was the first team selection Jackson Syringof Marco Barrera in the second team and Geoff Marlow nod as an honorable mention.

Syring (Derby, Kan.) hit .394 this year with 12 home runs, 19 doubles, three triples and 57 RBI. He was second in the GAC in doubles, third in batting average and fourth in RBIs. Syring finished the season with a 39-game streak of reaching base safely and at one point rode a 15-game hitting streak this year. His 69 hits led the team, and he had 23 different games this season in which he had at least two hits — highlighted by his 5-for-5 day against Newman, when he hit four home runs.

Barrera (Wilmington, California) started the season slowly with just four hits in the first 14 games before catching fire starting in game 15. He hit his first home run of the season in game 15 against Ouachita on February 23, seemingly snapping him out of the funk, and he went on to hit .423 in the final 35 games of the season. On the season, Barrera hit .376 with 12 home runs, 14 doubles and 40 RBI. His 22 stolen bases led the league and he was 10th in the GAC in batting average.

Marlow (Flower Mound, Texas) hit .359 with 20 doubles, best in the league. His team-high 14 home runs ranked him fifth in the conference, and he was just inside the league’s top-15 in batting average. Marlow had two or more RBI in 16 games this year, a number that led the Bulldog lineup. Like Syring, he finished the season having reached base safely in twenty consecutive games. At one point this year, he had put together a 12-game hit streak.

Complete All-GAC list (pdf)

Oklahoma Baptist – #33 Troy Shields, C, Jr., El Dorado Hills, California

Harding – #40 Maddox Long, Jr., Morrilton, Arkansas

Freshman of the Year
Arkansas-Monticello – #5 Camden Tanner, OR, North Little Rock, Arkansas

Ouachita Baptist – #12 Chase Oberle, P, Jr., Justin, Texas

Arkansas-Monticello-John Harvey

SP – Arkansas-Monticello – #20 Connor Irvine, Jr., Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
SP – Harding – #40 Maddox Long, Jr., Morrilton, Arkansas
SP – Ouachita Baptist – #12 Chase Oberle, Jr., Justin, Texas
SP – Harding – #24 Davis Welch, Sr., Searcy, Arkansas
RP – Southern Arkansas – #44 Isaiah Haynes, Sr., Katy, Texas
RP – Arkansas Tech – #6 Grant Shahan, Sr., Sherwood, Arkansas
C – Oklahoma Baptist – #33 Troy Shields, Jr., El Dorado Hills, California
1B – Northwestern State of Oklahoma – #7 Dylan Bradford, Jr., Tucson, Arizona
2B – Oklahoma Baptist – #1 Isiah Lissade, Sr., Elk Grove, California
3B – Henderson State – #6 Kaden Argenbright, Sr., Sulfur Springs, Texas
SS – Southern Arkansas – #7 Brandon Nicoll, Jr., Langley, British Columbia, Canada
OF – Arkansas Tech – #7 Keaton Ranallo, Jr., Owasso, Oklahoma
OR – Southwestern State of Oklahoma – #2 Jackson SyringJr., Derby, Kansas
OR – Arkansas-Monticello – #5 Camden Tanner, Fr., North Little Rock, Arkansas
OR – Northwestern State of Oklahoma – #31 Carson Wright, Jr., Bellevue, Nebraska
DH – Oklahoma Baptist – #30 Alex Schroeder, Sr., Rocklin, California
UTL – Ouachita Baptist – #2 Dustin Bermudez, Sr., Chandler, Arizona

SP – Southern Arkansas – #23 Jeremy Adorno, Jr., Kissimmee, Florida
SP – Arkansas Tech – #31 John Gray, Jr., Youngsville, Louisiana
SP – Southern Arkansas – #20 Mikel Howell, Sr., Huntsville, Texas
SP – Henderson State – #20 Reese Weaks, Jr., Princeton, Texas
RP – Arkansas Tech – #16 Will Horton, Sr., Fort Worth, Texas
RP – Northwestern State of Oklahoma – #4 Jacob Shaw, Jr., Hastings, Nebraska
C – Ouachita Baptist – #35 Michael Quinones, Sr., Phoenix, Arkansas
1B – Arkansas Tech – #11 Logan Schwenke, Sr., Chandler, Arizona
2B – Northwestern State of Oklahoma – #10 Hagen Barcello, Jr., Houston, Texas
3B – Southern Arkansas – #21 Jaden Woolbright, Jr., Benton, Arkansas
SS – Harding – #15 Cooper Newsom, So., Smyrna, Tenn
OR – Ouachita Baptist – #6 G. Allen, Sr., Little Rock, Arkansas
OR – Southwestern State of Oklahoma – #3 Marco BarreraJr., Wilmington, California
OF – Harding – #8 Michael Dewald, Sr., Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
OR – Southern Arkansas – #11 Trace Shoup, Jr., El Dorado, Arkansas
DH – Northwestern State of Oklahoma – #55 Chad Green, Jr., La Habra, California
UTL – Harding – #12 Collin Helms, So., Lawrenceville, Ga

Honorable mention ALL-GAC
SP – Oklahoma Baptist – #10 Nolan Feazle, Sr., Byng, Oklahoma
SP – Harding – #26 Merritt Jay, So., Arlington, Texas
SP – Southern Arkansas – #31 Tim Ruffino, Sr., Bogalusa, Louisiana
SP – Ouachita Baptist – #10 Cooper Timmons, Sr., League City, Texas
RP – Arkansas Tech – #43 Mason Griffin, Sr., Austin, Arkansas
RP – Arkansas-Monticello – #33 Nelson Mercado, Jr., Brampton, Ontario, Canada
C – Southwestern State of Oklahoma – #20 Geoff MarlowJr., Flower Mound, Texas
1B – Oklahoma Baptist – #25 Jayden Shafer, Jr., Tecumseh, Oklahoma
2B – Ouachita Baptist – #3 Wesley Scott, Fr., Lake Highland, Texas
3B – Arkansas Tech – #10 Brendyn Bard, So., Kansas City, Kansas
3B – Oklahoma Baptist – #9 Spencer Dickinson, Jr., Saipan, Northern Mariana Islands
SS – Arkansas-Monticello – #14 Aiden Garrett, Jr., Benton, Arkansas
OR – Oklahoma Baptist – #24 Will Joseph, So., Las Vegas, Nevada
OR – Southern Nazarene – #34 Jacob Martinez, Sr., Ventura, California
OR – Northwestern State of Oklahoma – #27 Trevor Saire, Jr., Peoria, Arizona
OR – Northwestern State of Oklahoma – #6 Paul Sachen, Jr., Scottsdale, Arizona
DH – Ouachita Baptist – #22 Cade Burris, Sr., Walnut Ridge, Arkansas
DH – Southeastern Oklahoma State – #14 Damon Burroughs, Sr., Pryor, Oklahoma
UTL – South Nazarene – #8 Colby Entwistle, Sr., Edmond, Oklahoma

P – Ouachita Baptist – #10 Cooper Timmons, Sr., League City, Texas
C – Arkansas-Monticello – #2 Chaz Poppy, Jr., Sherwood, Arkansas
1B – Arkansas-Monticello – #18 Cade Cancilla, Jr., Paragould, Arkansas
2B – Harding – #1 Drew McNeel, Sr., Gilmer, Texas
3B – Harding – #10 Logan Lacey, So., North Richland Hills, Texas
SS – Northwestern State of Oklahoma – #9 Jacob Wiltshire, Jr., Tucson, Arizona
OR – Ouachita Baptist – #11 Tallon Heine, Sr., Tool, Texas
OR – Southern Arkansas – #3 Chris Lyles, Sr., Texarkana, Texas
OR – Northwestern State of Oklahoma – #27 Trevor Saire, Jr., Peoria, Arizona