Covid19 Response

Covid News 2024


Abhishek Sharma as standby for T20 World Cup? Harbhajan impressed with the six-hitting SRH star

Former India off-spinner Harbhajan Singh wondered if it is still too late to add Abhishek Sharma, at least to the traveling reserves of India’s T20 World Cup 2024 squad after the SunRisers opener delivered one of his most destructive knocks had played in IPL 2024. Abhishek smashed 75 off just 28 balls and stitched a 167-run stand with Travis Head, who hit 89 off just 30 balls as SRH made a mockery of a 166-run chase against LSG in Hyderabad on Wednesday 8 May.

Harbhajan Singh echoed the emotions of millions of cricket fans as he couldn’t believe what he saw in the IPL 2024 match. SRH chased down 166 in just 9.4 overs with Abhishek and Head hitting 14 sixes and 16 boundaries between them. On a pitch where LSG’s top batters, including captain KL Rahul, struggled to get going fluently, SRH put together an onslaught of six singles.

“What just happened in Hyderabad! Travishead and IamAbhiSharma4 hit sixes like they were taking singles. Chased 165 in 9.4 overs. Should Team India include Abhishek in the bench strength?” Harbhajan asked in a social media post on Wednesday.

While Travis Head raced to the third spot in the Orange Cap standings in IPL 2024 after taking his tally to 533 runs in 11 matches, Abhishek took his tally to 401 runs with two fifty-plus scores. Both Head and Abhishek scored at a strike rate of over 200 this season, forming one of the most destructive opening pairs in the history of the tournament.

IPL 2024 Full Coverage | IPL 2024 points table and standings | 2024 IPL full schedule


It’s no surprise that Abhishek Sharma is the leading six-hitter in IPL 2024 – 35 in 11 matches, 3 more than second-placed Sunil Narine and 4 more than third-placed Travis Head.

Abhishek’s breakthrough in the IPL season was not enough to earn him a spot in the Indian T20 World Cup squad. While Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli and Yashasvi Jaiswal were picked as the top players in the 15-member squad, Shubman Gill and Rinku Singh were the two batters in the 4-member traveling reserves.

However, Puntits and former cricketers believe that Abhishek Sharma will soon be part of the Indian T20I line-up, probably after the T20 World Cup in June.

The Indian T20 World Cup squad

Rohit Sharma (c), Yashashvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav. Rishabh Pant (WK), Sanju Samson (WK), Hardik Pandya (VC), Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal. Arshdeep Singh, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj.

Reserves: Shubman Gill, Rimku Singh, Khaleel Ahmed, Avesh Khan. (Note: Teams have the option to change squads without notifying the ICC Technical Committee until May 23).

Published by:

Akshay Ramesh

Published on:

May 8, 2024